Leading Wicket Takers in ICC Men’s T20 World Cups

Leading Wicket Takers in Men's T20 World Cups

The ICC Men’s T20 World Cup has seen some remarkable bowling performances over the years, with several bowlers standing out for their wicket-taking abilities. Each tournament has produced a leading wicket-taker who has played a crucial role in their team’s success. Here is a look at the top wicket-takers from each edition of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup.

Leading Wicket Takers in Men’s T20 World Cups

Record Performance

Wanindu Hasaranga leads the list with 16 wickets in both the 2021 and 2022 editions.

Consistent Excellence

Umar Gul dominated the early years, being the top wicket-taker in both 2007 and 2009.

Aggressive Spell

Dirk Nannes emerged as the leading wicket-taker in the 2010 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, showcasing his exceptional bowling skills

Multiple Leaders

Ahsan Malik and others have also made significant impacts, often sharing the spotlight in certain years.

Top Performances

Each leading wicket-taker has played a pivotal role in their respective tournaments.

  • Wanindu Hasaranga’s Dominance: Hasaranga took 16 wickets in both the 2021 and 2022 tournaments.
  • Umar Gul’s Early Impact: Led the wickets tally in both 2007 and 2009 with 13 wickets each year.
  • Drink Aggressive Spell: His ability to consistently take wickets was instrumental in his team’s performance.
  • Ahsan Malik’s Contribution: Was among the leading wicket-takers in 2010
  • Diverse Talent Pool: Players from various countries have topped the charts, showing the global nature of the competition.

Leading Wicket Takers in Every ICC Men’s T20 World Cup

2022Wanindu Hasaranga16
2007Umar Gul13
2009Umar Gul13
2010Drik Nannes14
2010Ahsan Malik12
2012Ajantha Mendis15
2014Ahsan Malik12
2014Imran Tahir12
2016Mohammad Nabi12
2021Wanindu Hasaranga16

Wanindu Hasaranga’s exceptional performances in recent tournaments have set a high bar, continuing the tradition of outstanding bowling in the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup. These leading wicket-takers have not only achieved individual success but have also significantly contributed to their teams’ performances on the world stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *