The Match Winners in the IPL Finals Over the Years

Match Winners in the IPL

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has witnessed some thrilling finales over the years, with several players stepping up to deliver match-winning performances. Therefore Player of the Match (POTM) in the IPL final is a prestigious accolade that highlights the contributions of these standout players. In 2024, Hence Mitchell Starc added his name to this elite list with a remarkable comeback performance. Finally Here we take a look at the players who have been the match-winners in the IPL finals from 2008 to 2024.

Match Winners in the IPL

Mitchell Starc Comeback

In fact 2024, Mitchell Starc made a significant impact in his comeback season, securing the POTM award in the final for Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR).

Multiple Winners

Ultimate Several players have repeatedly shown their mettle in finals, with notable mentions including Shane Watson and Kieron Pollard.

Consistent Teams

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Mumbai Indians (MI) have frequently featured in finals, with players from these teams often taking the POTM honors.

Match Winners in IPL Finals (POTM)

2008Yusuf PathanRajasthan Royals (RR)
2009Anil KumbleRoyal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
2010Suresh RainaChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2011Murali VijayChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2012Manvinder BislaKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
2013Kieron PollardMumbai Indians (MI)
2014Manish PandeyKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)
2015Rohit SharmaMumbai Indians (MI)
2016Ben CuttingSunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)
2017Krunal PandyaMumbai Indians (MI)
2018Shane WatsonChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2019Jasprit BumrahMumbai Indians (MI)
2020Trent BoultMumbai Indians (MI)
2021Faf du PlessisChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2022Hardik PandyaGujarat Titans (GT)
2023Devon ConwayChennai Super Kings (CSK)
2024Mitchell StarcKolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Legendary Performers in IPL Finals

  • 2008: Yusuf Pathan all-round performance led Rajasthan Royals to their first title.
  • 2009: Anil Kumble remarkable bowling performance almost took RCB to victory.
  • 2010: Suresh Raina stellar batting ensured CSK’s first IPL title.
  • 2011: Murali Vijay explosive batting in the final helped CSK retain their title.
  • 2012: Manvinder Bisla unexpected heroics with the bat clinched the title for KKR.
  • 2013: Kieron Pollard all-round show was pivotal in MI’s win.
  • 2014: Manish Pandey crucial innings powered KKR to their second title.
  • 2015: Rohit Sharma captain’s knock secured MI another championship.
  • 2016: Ben Cutting all-round brilliance gave SRH their maiden title.
  • 2017: Krunal Pandya impactful performance sealed the victory for MI.
  • 2018: Shane Watson powerful century ensured CSK’s comeback title.
  • 2019: Jasprit Bumrah exceptional bowling was crucial in MI’s tight win.
  • 2020: Trent Boult’s early wickets set the tone for MI’s dominant win.
  • 2021: Faf du Plessis match-winning innings led CSK to another title.
  • 2022: Hardik Pandya all-round performance guided GT to their first title.
  • 2023: Devon Conway innings was instrumental in CSK’s latest triumph.
  • 2024: Mitchell Starc comeback season was capped with a stellar final performance for KKR.

Moreover players have left an indelible mark on the IPL with their match winning performances in the finals Hence contributing to some of the most memorable moments in the tournament’s history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *