India T20 World Cup Squad 2024 announced

India T20 World Cup Squad

India has announced its 15-man squad for the 2024 T20 World Cup, set to commence in the USA and the West Indies on June 1st. Led by Rohit Sharma, the team features notable inclusions such as Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube, and Sanju Samson. Yuzvendra Chahal makes a comeback on the back of his IPL form, joining a spin-heavy lineup alongside Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel. Additionally The pace attack includes specialists like Jasprit Bumrah and Mohammed Siraj, with Hardik Pandya and Dube providing seam-bowling options. The squad reflects a blend of experience and youthful energy, with players selected based on their IPL performances. Reserves like Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan add depth to the team.

  • Composition: A balanced squad of 15 players led by Rohit Sharma with Hardik Pandya as vice-captain.
  • Selections: Notable inclusions of Rishabh Pant, Shivam Dube, and Sanju Samson.
  • Spin Options: Four spinners included – Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Ravindra Jadeja, and Axar Patel.
  • Pace Attack: Three specialist pacers – Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, and Arshdeep Singh, with Hardik Pandya and Shivam Dube providing seam-bowling options.
  • Reserve Players: Additionally Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, and Avesh Khan named as reserves.
  • Return of Experienced Players: Eight players from India’s 2022 T20 World Cup campaign, including Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, feature in the squad.
  • Performance-based Selection: Therefore Players like Pant, Samson, and Dube selected based on their IPL 2024 performances.
  • Chahal’s Comeback: In addition Yuzvendra Chahal earns a spot after impressive IPL form despite being out of recent T20I squads.
  • Captaincy History: Moreover Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli previously captained the team in T20Is, with Hardik Pandya and Suryakumar Yadav also filling in.
  • Coach Rahul Dravid’s Role: Dravid to accompany the squad to the USA, aiding in preparations.

India Squad

Rohit Sharma (c), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Hardik Pandya (VC), Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj.

India T20 World Cup Squad

India’s T20 World Cup Squad – Player Statistics (IPL 2024)

PlayerRunsStrike RateWicketsEconomy Rate
Rohit Sharma (capt)311160.30
Yashasvi Jaiswal249154.65
Virat Kohli500147.49
Suryakumar Yadav166171.13
Rishabh Pant398158.56
Sanju Samson385161.08
Hardik Pandya197151.53411.94
Shivam Dube350172.41
Ravindra Jadeja157131.9357.54
Axar Patel149124.1697.24
Kuldeep Yadav1212.45
Yuzvendra Chahal139.00
Arshdeep Singh129.63
Jasprit Bumrah146.63
Mohammed Siraj69.50

Reserve Players (IPL 2024 Statistics)

  • Shubman Gill: 320 runs, Strike Rate 140.96
  • Rinku Singh: 123 runs, Strike Rate 150
  • Khaleel Ahmed: 12 wickets, Economy Rate 9.47
  • Avesh Khan: 9 wickets, Economy Rate 9.54

The squad is set to depart in batches for the USA on May 21st, gearing up to face Ireland in their opening match on June 5th.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *