ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup Champion 2024

ICC Men's T20 Cricket World Cup Champion 2024

India clinched the ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup 2024 title with a thrilling 7-run victory over South Africa. Batting first, India posted a challenging total of 176/7. South Africa fought valiantly in their chase but fell short, finishing at 169/8 after 20 overs.

ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup Champion 2024

Moreover An attritional 76 from Virat Kohli had helped India to a monumental first-innings score of 176/7 as they sought their first crown in over a decade. Meanwhile Opponents South Africa were looking for their first world title ever as they chased 177 – and came immensely close, with some fine batting from Quinton de Kock and Heinrich Klaasen.

Toss: India won the toss and chose to bat first.

Key Moments

India’s Innings

  • Early Wickets for South Africa:
  • Moreover After an expensive opening over from Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj took two in the second – first Rohit Sharma, caught by Heinrich Klaasen, and then Rishabh Pant, caught by Quinton de Kock.
  • Kagiso Rabada got the important wicket of Suryakumar Yadav for just 3 in the fifth over, with Klaasen again taking the catch as the batter looked to attack.
  • Vital Partnership:
  • Therefore Virat Kohli and Axar Patel formed a crucial partnership of 72 for the fourth wicket, but it was ended by a combination of poor running and exceptional fielding. De Kock picked up a gentle tap from Kohli and promptly threw it at the non-striker’s end, where Axar was well out of his ground.
  • Moreover Shivam Dube joined Kohli at the crease, and they put on another valuable knock of 57 between them before South Africa made inroads in the last two overs.
  • Kohli’s battling innings came to an end for 76, skying Jansen into the hands of Rabada at long-on, and then Anrich Nortje continued his fine tournament with two wickets in the final over – Dube hitting hard into the hands of David Miller, and then Ravindra Jadeja edging to Maharaj on the last ball.

South Africa’s Innings

  • Bumrah Strikes Early:
  • Therefore There were more early wickets in the South Africa innings, with Jasprit Bumrah bowling a perfect delivery to knock over Reeza Hendricks in the second over, followed by Aiden Markram edging Arshdeep Singh behind.
  • Key Partnerships:
  • De Kock continued his excellent form, though, partnering up with Tristan Stubbs for 58 off 38 balls.
  • Stubbs’ departure – bowled by Axar Patel for 31 – brought Heinrich Klaasen to the crease for the last ball of the ninth over, with South Africa still needing more than 100 runs.
  • De Kock could not helm the chase, holing Arshdeep out to the hands of Kuldeep Yadav for a valuable 39.
  • Nail-Biting Finish:
  • David Miller joined Klaasen and their combined big hitting got the required run-rate down to a run a ball, with 30 needed.
  • Klaasen nicked Hardik Pandya behind for 52 in the 17th over, looking for another boundary to close the gap even further, leaving his side on 151/5.
  • Marco Jansen was out shortly afterwards to a great Bumrah ball as the required run-rate increased again – with 20 needed off the last two overs.
  • Miller fell in the first ball of the final over for 21, attempting a six off Hardik but reaching only the hands of Suryakumar on the run, who managed to keep his feet the right side of the rope.
  • Maharaj and Rabada tried to keep the pressure on, but they could not fend off Hardik for much longer, with Rabada hefting a shot straight to Suryakumar again.
  • A single from Anrich Nortje left South Africa eight runs short of victory in an epic final.

Match Summary Table

India1st176/7720Won by 7 runs
South Africa2nd169/9820

Key Moments Table

2ndMaharaj takes wickets of Rohit and Pant
5thRabada dismisses Suryakumar Yadav
Kohli and Axar Patel form 72-run stand
Kohli scores 76, India reach 176/7
2ndBumrah bowls Reeza Hendricks
De Kock and Stubbs add 58 runs together
Klaasen scores 52, Pandya takes key wickets
20thHardik dismisses Miller, India win

Player of the Match

India’s star batsman, Virat Kohli, was named Player of the Match for his crucial 76 off 59 balls. His innings provided the backbone for India’s total of 176/7, setting a challenging target for South Africa in the final.

Player Of the Match

Key Stats

PlayerRunsBalls4s6sStrike Rate
Virat Kohli765981128.81

Kohli’s steady and composed batting under pressure was instrumental in guiding India to their second ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title.

Player of the Tournament

Jasprit Bumrah’s outstanding bowling throughout the tournament earned him the Aramco Player of the Tournament Award. As the leader of the Indian bowling attack, Bumrah’s consistent performances were pivotal in India’s path to glory.

Tournament Stats


Bumrah’s ability to deliver under pressure and his remarkable economy rate highlighted his dominance in the tournament.

India’s thrilling win marks their first ICC Men’s T20 World Cup title in over a decade, highlighting their resilience and skill in high-pressure situations. Fans can celebrate this historic moment as India continues to shine on the global cricket stage.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *