Purple Cap Winners in Each IPL Season

Purple Cap Winners

The Purple Cap is awarded to the highest wicket-taker in each season of the Indian Premier League (IPL). This coveted title highlights the exceptional bowlers who have consistently delivered outstanding performances. Moreover Below is a detailed article, including key highlights and a table summarizing the Purple Cap winners from each season.

Purple Cap Winners


  • The Purple Cap has seen a variety of winners, showcasing the dominance of both international and Indian bowlers.

Dwayne Bravo

  • Notable for winning the Purple Cap twice, in 2013 and 2015.

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

  • The only bowler to win the Purple Cap in consecutive seasons (2016 and 2017).

Bhuvneshwar Kumar

  • Players like Harshal Patel and Yuzvendra Chahal have emerged as key bowlers in recent years.

Purple Cap Winners Season by Season

200822Sohail Tanvir
200923RP Singh
201021Pragyan Ojha
201128Lasith Malinga
201225Morne Morkel
201332Dwayne Bravo
201423Mohit Sharma
201526Dwayne Bravo
201623Bhuvneshwar Kumar
201726Bhuvneshwar Kumar
201824Andrew Tye
201926Imran Tahir
202030Kagiso Rabada
202132Harshal Patel
202227Yuzvendra Chahal
202328Mohammed Shami
202424Harshal Patel


Consistency and Performance

The table illustrates the consistency of certain bowlers over the years. Moreover Dwayne Bravo’s 32 wickets in 2013 and Bhuvneshwar Kumar’s back-to-back wins reflect their high performance levels.

Impact of Overseas Players

Furthermore Overseas players like Lasith Malinga, Morne Morkel, and Kagiso Rabada have significantly impacted the league, often clinching the top spot.

Rise of Indian Talent

In addition Indian bowlers have increasingly dominated, especially in recent years, with Harshal Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, and Mohammed Shami making their mark.

The Purple Cap continues to be a symbol of excellence in bowling within the IPL, highlighting the competitive spirit and high skill level of the bowlers participating in the league. Therefore Each season brings new talents to the forefront Consequently maintaining the excitement and competitiveness of the tournament.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *