Most Valuable Player Award Winners in Each IPL Season

Most Valuable Player

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has seen many remarkable performances over the years, with players delivering exceptional displays of skill, resilience, and athleticism. Certainly the Most Valuable Player (MVP) Award, also known as the Man of the Tournament, therefore given to the standout performer of each season. Here’s a look at the MVPs from 2008 to 2024.


  • Shane Watson and Sunil Narine have both won the MVP award twice.
  • Andre Russell and Shane Watson are known for their exceptional all-round performances.
  • Virat Kohli and Chris Gayle have been recognized for their explosive batting.
  • Recent winners include Shubman Gill and Jos Buttler, showcasing the rising stars in cricket.

MVP Winners List

YearMVP WinnerNotes
2008Shane WatsonExceptional all-round performance for RR
2009Adam GilchristOutstanding batting and leadership
2010Sachin TendulkarStellar batting for Mumbai Indians
2011Chris GayleExplosive batting for Royal Challengers
2012Sunil NarineSuperb bowling for Kolkata Knight Riders
2013Shane WatsonContinued all-round excellence
2014Glenn MaxwellRemarkable batting for Kings XI Punjab
2015Andre RussellDynamic all-round performance for KKR
2016Virat KohliRecord-breaking run-scoring for RCB
2017Ben StokesStellar all-round display for RPS
2018Sunil NarineConsistent performances for KKR
2019Andre RussellDominant all-round show for KKR
2020Jofra ArcherExceptional bowling for Rajasthan Royals
2021Harshal PatelLeading wicket-taker for Royal Challengers
2022Jos ButtlerProlific run-scorer for Rajasthan Royals
2023Shubman GillOutstanding batting for Gujarat Titans
2024Sunil NarineThird-time MVP winner for KKR

Detailed Overview

Shane Watson (2008, 2013)

  • 2008: Shane Watson’s all-round performance helped Rajasthan Royals win the inaugural IPL title.
  • 2013: His consistent performances with both bat and ball made him a standout player once again.

Adam Gilchrist (2009)

  • Hence Led Deccan Chargers to their first IPL title with his explosive batting and astute captaincy.

Sachin Tendulkar (2010)

  • The Little Master was the leading run-scorer, guiding Mumbai Indians to the finals.

Chris Gayle (2011)

  • Moreover Known for his power-hitting, Gayle’s performance was instrumental for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Sunil Narine (2012, 2018, 2024)

  • Hence Narine mystery spin has been a game-changer for Kolkata Knight Riders, earning him MVP honors thrice.

Glenn Maxwell (2014)

  • Certainly Maxwell aggressive batting was crucial for Kings XI Punjab’s strong season.

Andre Russell (2015, 2019)

  • Russell destructive batting and effective bowling have made him a dual MVP winner.

Virat Kohli (2016)

  • Utimately Kohli exceptional batting saw him score four centuries in a single season, ultimate a record-breaking feat.

Ben Stokes (2017)

  • Stokes showcased his all-round capabilities, making a significant impact for Rising Pune Supergiant.

Jofra Archer (2020)

  • Hence Archer fast bowling was a key asset for Rajasthan Royals, consistently delivering under pressure.

Harshal Patel (2021)

  • Hence Patel emerged as the leading wicket-taker, playing a pivotal role for Royal Challengers Bangalore.

Jos Buttler (2022)

  • Certainly Buttler consistent high scores made him the top run-scorer for Rajasthan Royals.

Shubman Gill (2023)

  • Ultimate Gill stellar batting performances were instrumental in Gujarat Titans’ successful campaign.

Finally overall IPL MVP award highlights the contributions of the best players in each season, celebrating their impact and performances that often lead their teams to victory. In light of this seasoned veterans to emerging stars, the MVPs of the IPL have consistently raised the bar for excellence in T20 cricket.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *