IPL 2018 Chennai Super Kings SecureTitle in Thrilling Final

IPL 2018 Chennai Super Kings

In an electrifying final at Wankhede Stadium on May 27, 2018, Sunrisers Hyderabad set a formidable total of 178/6. However, Chennai Super Kings showcased their exceptional batting prowess, effortlessly reaching the target of 179, finishing at 181/2 in just 18.3 overs. Chennai Super Kings claimed a decisive victory by 8 wickets with 9 balls to spare, securing the IPL 2018 championship.

IPL Headlines


The thrilling IPL final on May 27, 2018, at Wankhede Stadium saw Chennai Super Kings emerge victorious over Sunrisers Hyderabad by 8 wickets, securing their third IPL title.


Therefore Sunrisers Hyderabad put up a strong performance but fell short in the IPL 2018 final against Chennai Super Kings at Wankhede Stadium on May 27.

Player of the Match

Hence Shane Watson delivered a stunning unbeaten innings, scoring 117 runs off 57 balls. His explosive knock, featuring 11 boundaries and 8 sixes, led Chennai Super Kings to a comfortable victory.

Player of the Series

Hence Sunil Narine was named Player of the Series for his outstanding all-round performance throughout the tournament, amassing 357 runs and taking 17 wickets.

Points Table

1Sunrisers Hyderabad149500180.284
2Chennai Super Kings149500180.253
3Kolkata Knight Riders14860016-0.070
4Rajasthan Royals14770014-0.250
5Mumbai Indians146800120.317
6Royal Challengers Bangalore146800120.129
7Kings XI Punjab14680012-0.502
8Delhi Daredevils14590010-0.222

The IPL 2018 final at Wankhede Stadium remains a memorable battle of champions, with Chennai Super Kings rightfully claiming the title.

Key Highlights

  • Match Date: May 27, 2018
  • Venue: Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai
  • Result: Chennai Super Kings won by 8 wickets with 9 balls remaining
  • Top Scorer: Shane Watson (CSK) – 117* runs off 57 balls
  • Player of the Series: Sunil Narine (KKR) – 357 runs and 17 wickets
  • Runner-Up: Sunrisers Hyderabad

Thus Chennai Super Kings commanding victory in the IPL 2018 final demonstrated their exceptional talent and hence solidified their status as one of the premier teams in IPL history.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *