IPL 2009 Deccan Chargers Clinch Thrilling Victory in Final

IPL 2009 Deccan Chargers

The Indian Premier League (IPL) 2009 Final, Hence held in Johannesburg on May 24, witnessed a captivating clash between the Deccan Chargers, crowned as IPL 2009 Champions, and the Royal Challengers Bangalore. The Chargers secured a memorable victory by defending their total of 143/6, restricting the Royal Challengers to 137/9. This thrilling encounter marked the conclusion of the IPL’s second season.

IPL Headlines


Thus Deccan Chargers posted 143/6 and successfully defended it, winning the final by 6 runs. Anil Kumble’s outstanding bowling earned him the Player of the Match title.


The Royal Challengers Bangalore emerged as the runners-up, certainly facing a formidable challenge from the Deccan Chargers. Despite their valiant efforts, the Royal Challengers fell short, concluding the tournament as the second-placed team.

Player of the Match

Hence Anil Kumble’s exceptional performance with a spell of 4/16 in the final played a crucial role in the Chargers’ triumph.

Player of the Series

Hence Adam Gilchrist’s exceptional batting performance throughout the series, amassing 495 runs, earned him the Player of the Series accolade.

Points Table

PositionTeamMatchesWinsLossesTiesNo ResultPointsNRR
1Delhi Daredevils1410400200.311
2Chennai Super Kings148501170.951
3Royal Challengers Bangalore14860016-0.191
4Deccan Chargers147700140.203
5Kings XI Punjab14770014-0.483
6Rajasthan Royals14670113-0.352
7Mumbai Indians145801110.297
8Kolkata Knight Riders14310017-0.789

The IPL 2009 Final showcased the resilience and determination Moreover of the Deccan Chargers, ultimately securing victory against the Royal Challengers Bangalore in a thrilling encounter. Consequently triumph added a memorable chapter to the history of the Indian Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *