IPL 2008 Rajasthan Royals Triumph in Thrilling Final

IPL 2008 Rajasthan Royals

According June 01, 2008, the DY Patil Stadium witnessed an exhilarating final between the Chennai Super Kings and the Rajasthan Royals, marking the conclusion of the inaugural Indian Premier League (IPL) season. This thrilling encounter not only crowned the Rajasthan Royals as the first IPL champions but also left a lasting impact on the tournament’s history. Let’s delve into the key highlights and statistics that defined this historic match.

IPL Headlines


Hence Rajasthan Royals emerged victorious, successfully chasing Chennai Super Kings’ total of 163/5 with no balls remaining, securing a narrow win by 3 wickets.


Therefore Chennai Super Kings put up a resilient fight, and the experience gained during this early phase laid the foundation for their strategic prowess in future IPL editions.

Player of the Match

Hence Yusuf Pathan stood out with his all-round performance, scoring 56 runs off 39 balls and taking 3 wickets for 22 runs.

Player of the Series

Ultimately Shane Watson’s all-round brilliance earned him the Player of the Series award. Additionally scored 472 runs and took 17 wickets, showcasing his impactful contributions.

Points Table

PositionTeamMatchesWinsLossesTiesNo ResultPointsNRR
1Rajasthan Royals1411300220.632
2Kings XI Punjab1410400200.509
3Chennai Super Kings14860016-0.192
4Delhi Daredevils147601150.342
5Mumbai Indians147700140.570
6Kolkata Knight Riders14670113-0.147
8Deccan Chargers14212004-0.467

The 2008 IPL Finally remains etched in memory as the Rajasthan Royals clinched the title in a nail-biting encounter. The remarkable performances of Yusuf Pathan and Shane Watson, combined with strategic decisions, Consequently shaped the outcome of this historic match, setting the tone for the future seasons of the Indian Premier League.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *